Books Galore!

I was in Thomson Plaza last Saturday evening and stumbled upon an Evernew Book Fair on the first floor.  Perfect chance to grow my library alittle! :)

I went home with a load of books… and only spent $15 total.  I don’t know about you, but when we’re talking books, that’s worth it to me!Afew useful thematic books that I want to read with my students.

Eric Carle books… too good to miss, nevermind that they’re second hand!

A very cute story with plenty of potential for children involvement…just imagining how I would engage the children as I read this one through the first time, made me grin to myself several times… We’ve got a treat coming, children! :)

Goodnight Moon and Guess How Much I Love You are two of my favourites…and they’re popular too! :)  If you haven’t read them, you’ll want to do it soon!  You will love Little NutBrown Hare too, I’m sure of it!

For those of you who have not come across EverNew Books, it is a company that sells books secondhand… and they have lots of treasures in their stock too!!  (And no, they did not pay me to say this either :D).  I’ve seen them at Bras Basah Complex quite a few times, but I didn’t know they have fairs around the island too!  If you have a book itch and a couple of hours to spare, this is a good place to spend them (along with very few of your dollars compared to if you shop for brand new books!)

I don’t know about you, but a book is a book, to me…brand new or otherwise.  As long as it’s in good condition, it’s a treasure to possess and share… I don’t mind that my books are not all firsthand or brand new!

Know of any good places to shop for children’s books?  I’m on a children’s book spree right now, and I so want to find a copy of Chrysanthemum, by Kevin Henks.  I fell for the book ever since one of my lecturers introduced us to the rendition done by Scholastic Video Collection.  Does anyone know where I can find a copy?  (whispers: Secondhand is fine too, you know! :D)

Thank you for reading!

2 thoughts on “Books Galore!

  1. I actually borrowed a copy of Kevin Henkes’ chrysanthemum from the library; picked it up because my son was going to perform it for his K2 concert last year. :) and yeah I love buying children’s books too, never mind that my kids will grow out of them too soon, I’ll invest in them if they’re classics. Have you tried my Bookdepository link? Good prices for new books, if you’re interested in keeping them for the long haul. :)

  2. Yeah I recently cheered and hi-fived to myself when I saw your post and link to bookdepository, cause I’m a BD fan too! :) I know I really should to look there, but alas, I’m procrastinating again (and excusing it on my impatience—the long wait after I order the book, you know!)

    Waow, he got to do Chrysanthemum for his K2 concert? You’re so fortunate you got to watch it!! /yeah, incurable Chrysanthemum fan!

    Hey, I think your kids won’t really outgrow them…just experience a hiatus. :) Afterall, look at us, right? :D hahaha!

Leave a Reply

