Recommend Teacher Sue Your Favourite Children’s Book

Guess what?!

I recently got an assignment:  plan an hour-long programme for children 2-6 years old.  The group is going to be quite large–over a hundred children–and the success of the programme is going to be important…both for the good of my work and to my confidence as a teacher! /yeah, sweaty palms and butterflies/

As part of the programme, I am planning an interactive storytime that would involve both the children and myself… but I need a good story, and I am no expert on good children’s books. :(  Case in point:  I’ve totally neglected some wonderful authors like Julia Donaldson… and I only realised that when I was reading Harlina’s latest post and was reminded of Donaldson and my very limited exposure to her books during my studies.  (Thank you for the reminder, Harlina! :))  Yes, it’s high time I get back into children’s books!!!

At any rate, in early childhood, we’re told to be always humble, willing to ask and quick to learn from others.  So here’s my humble question:

Have you any favourite children’s book to suggest (any author, though famous ones like Eric Carle, Shel Silverstein or Julia Donaldson certainly lends some familiarity!) that you think would fit the bill?

I’m looking for a story that has repetitive parts simple enough for the two year olds to do along with the rest of the children… (like a simple phrase or an animal sound).  When it’s carried out correctly, it is supposed to go something like this, but simpler:

And to prove I’ve been doing my homework, here are afew that I have been considering…what do you think of these?

Goodnight Moon, by Margaret Wise Brown

From Head to Toe, by Eric Carle

Love You Forever, by Robert Munsch (this one mostly because it suits the theme of celebrating childhood, but it’s sort of a sad story, hehe)

What the Ladybird Heard, by Julia Donaldson

So if you have a book you think might work, pleaseeeeeeee do tell me about it!  I would be so much obliged!

Thank you for reading, and I hope to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Recommend Teacher Sue Your Favourite Children’s Book

  1. A Squash and a Squeeze by Julia Donaldson has good repetitive parts, too! From your list, I think From Head to Toe will work with the age group, with it’s repeated “I can do it”s!

    A HUNDRED KIDS! Sounds really exciting, Sue! Whichever book you choose, have fun with it! Happy teacher’s day :)

Leave a Reply

