Action Plan for “Slow” Readers_Step B

Good day to everyone!  I trust you’ve done your step A.  If you have, good for you!  You’re ready to move on to the second step.

B is for BUILDB is for Build. Once you know where your child stands, begin to build from there.  Fill in the gaps and strengthen the foundation.  Can you remember the two questions I asked in my last newsletter?  The two things you want to find out, basically:

  1. Letter names
  2. Letter sounds

You’ve done your step A; it’s time to build!  What is he weak in?  Is it naming the letters after letter F?  Then start from letter G.  Break things down and work carefully through the alphabet all the way to letter Z.

Now.  We all know we have to build on what we know, to reach the next level, right?  Duh, Teacher Sue, don’t be so long-winded. I know.  So, instead of boring you by going into unnecessary details about building (hmm, if you want details, write and ask… I’ll likely elaborate if you ask!), let me tell you a secret.  I’m going to give you three easy-to-remember tips that have won me success with every single child I have worked with.

  1. Always go from simple to complex.
  2. Always go from concrete to abstract.
  3. Always remember, there’s a solution for every problem.  You’ve just got to find it.

These three pointers are the SECRET TO MY OWN SUCCESS when I work with children.  Especially the last one.  I always remind myself:  If you really believe that there is a solution, you will never throw up your hands and lose your temper.  You wouldn’t give up and resign yourself and the child to lagging behind.  You would keep a cool head, remember that the child is not to blame, and look for the elusive solution.

This step is where phonics classes could come in.  If you can teach phonics by yourself, that’s great!  Just do make sure that you know it well enough to teach it.  Nothing is worse than teaching the child the wrong thing, especially when you’re laying foundations for reading. If you send him for classes, don’t make the mistake of leaving it all up to the teacher.  COMMUNICATE.  Find out what you could work on at home, and keep track of your child’s progress.  A good teacher would be happy for your involvement.  Explain your concern to the teacher and together, set reasonable target goals for your child.

Okay, and as a teacher myself, I have to say a word for them, right?  Please, please, please, be reasonable.  They are not God, but they are there to give you help. They can’t work miracles, but they can work with your child to help him overcome his obstacles.  The idea is collaboration, not transfer of responsibility!  Try to remember that, okay? ;)

Righto!  You’ll have a great deal to put into practise now.  Assess, Build, then watch for our step C!  I’ll see you then!

Talk to me!  Tell me how you’re doing.  Ask any questions you have.  Would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

